Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)

DWI Attorney in Austin

Texas has the highest number of incidents of alcohol-related accidents in the nation. Even though strict rules are in place to to deter drinking and driving, it still happens often. If you’ve been charged with a drinking and driving offense, contact Keith Hampton today to discuss your case. 

Ready for immediate action

If you've been charged with a DWI, it's imperative that you take immediate action. Just 40 days after your arrest for driving while intoxicated (DWI), you can automatically lose your driver's license for an indefinite period of time. Keith S. Hampton fights the license suspension by immediately requesting a hearing or petitioning the court for a hardship license, which allows you from home to work. Please note that the license suspension hearing must be requested within 15 days of the arrest.
Driver being tested for drinking and driving

Contact us today to schedule a free initial consultation: 512-476-8484

Special rules for minor drivers

Texas enforces a zero tolerance law for for drivers under the age of 21 who are charged with drinking and driving. Minors with any sign of alcohol in their systems, regardless of the amount, are charged with driving under the influence (DUI). It's much stricter than what is applied to an adult who drinks and drives. In that case, the amount of alcohol in the person's system must be above a prescribed level. Penalties can be:
  • Up to a $500 fine
  • 60-day driver's license suspension
  • Up to 40 hours of community service
  • Alcohol awareness classes
Drivers age 17 and older who are stopped for drinking and driving with a blood or breath alcohol concentration of .08 or greater are subject to the same DWI criminal penalties as an adult.

Other consequences of DWI

There could be other possible charges as a result of your DWI, and Keith Hampton can help with these charges, including:
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • Probation for up to two years
  • Fees to reinstate the license which can be up to $2,000 per year for three years
  • Fines
  • Community service
  • Fees for car impoundment and towing
  • Increased car insurance premiums
The penalties are even more severe for repeat offenders.

DWI with a child in the vehicle

When children under the age of 15 are present, the rules become even more severe.  
The driver can also be charged with the felony of child endangerment. The penalties are uncompromising and can include:
  • Fines up to $10,000
  • Jail sentence up to two years
  • Driver's license suspension up to two years

Reviewing defenses

Keith S. Hampton will begin to review your charges as soon as he accepts your case. Some defenses may include:
  • Challenging breath, blood, or urine tests
  • Cross-examining the arresting officer to assess for mistakes
Share by: